top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrina Jo Bradley

Calving vs. the Zombie Apocalypse

(This blog is reposted from my former blog - written in Jan. 2018, our last year of calving in Jan/Feb.)

Happy middle of January! We are counting down the days until we start calving – should have about ten left…then its busy, busy, busy here at the Bradley Ranch.

As I was preparing my freezer meals again this year, I remembered that the only thing I look forward to more than calving every year is the zombie apocalypse. Then I started paying attention to all the things we do to get ready for calving, and I realized that we could well be preparing for either event. So I’ve made a list of the similarities. Let me know if you agree, disagree, or notice something that I’ve overlooked.

CALVING/ZOMBIELAND SURVIVAL RULES

  1. ZIPLOCK BAGS. I’ve been hoarding food that will last us at LEAST three months. We’ve got a fresh beef and pork in the freezer, along with about 20 frozen crockpot meals, pizza, lasagna and ice cream.

  2. DOUBLE TAP. I recently took a quick mental inventory of our fire power in this house – you may not think we need guns for calving, but we do have wolves, coyotes and bears here. Needless to say, we can stand off carnivores of any kind for a WHILE.

  3. THE BUDDY SYSTEM. We have a night watchman – namely Peter, my husband. He usually goes to bed around 8, I check at 10 then go to bed, he checks the rest of the night. The cows are never alone very long, and we’ll know if any zombies are storming the gates.

  4. CARDIO. I started the Couch to 5k program two weeks ago in preparation for calving, but as we all know thanks to Zombieland (best. movie. ever.) we need to also be able to outrun the undead.

  5. DON’T BE A HERO. We try not to keep aggressive cows, but sometimes they sneak up on us. I make it a practice to stay far away from those. I’m no hero. Those cows will eat you as fast as a zombie will kill you.

  6. ENJOY THE LITTLE THINGS. This is the most important rule for us – we get so caught up in taking care of the cows and being exhausted that we forget that we love what we do. So take the time to say “awe” when you see an adorable calf. Make your husband his favorite dessert when he gives you the afternoon off. Kiss your wife and tell her thanks for everything. Make time for your kids, even though you’re too tired.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page